Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Holika Holika Petit BB Cream




I love the idea of BB cream; it’s a foundation, it’s a moisturizer, and a sunscreen. That is if you find one that matches your skin tone. Most of BB creams that I have come across are either way too orange, or they are so sheer that they don’t really accomplish anything tint wise, but then I came across Holika Holika Essential (the yellowy- orange package) Petit BB Cream and I fell in love. It is epitome of my lazy make-up routine, Petit BB cream, concealer, powder, and I’m good to go.   This BB cream has a good amount of coverage, but matches to lighter skin tones, especially to that jaundice like undertone of my skin. This is also one of the more affordable brands of BB Creams. It retails at Pretty and Cute for about $8.99, but most independent Korean sellers offer the product for around 4 or 5 dollars.  

The product has a light, perfume scent, I personally like it, but I might be a bit strong for those who are sensitive to odors and perfumes.   The special ingredient in the Essential BB cream is caviar which is supposed to provide extra elasticity and moisture in order to benefit aging skin.
 I just couldn’t stop the essential BB Cream I had to try the other varieties available. I had to catch them all, so to speak. 

Out of all the Holika Holika Petit BB creams I tried, the Moisture (the purple package) was my absolute favorite. You can tell by the feel of the product formula that is very lavish and moisture rich. The special ingredient in this formula is Hyaluronic acid, which is an excellent ingredient for anyone with acne prone skin that still needs. It feels amazing on the face and I saw a vast improvement in my skin quality, I had blemish free skin while wearing this product.  

                I would rank the Moisture BB cream the highest, the Essential as second, and the Shimmering (the pink package) as third. I had never worn a “shimmering” face product before and I was intrigued by the idea thinking that by wearing it I could also skip highlighting in my make-up routine.  The special ingredient in the Shimmering cream is pearl powder and since my favorite highlighting product is Lorac’s Oil free luminizer which has a pearlescent finish I thought that it would be right up my alley (especially since I think Lorac has discontinued the luminizer).   

When I first put on the Shimmer cream I looked sweaty, like I had a just three blocks on the hottest day of July sweaty. After the cream oxidized and I applied some powder it didn’t look as bad, but I didn’t really care for the finish. I just don’t think a dewy glow goes with my black eye shadow and red lipstick, Unlike the Moisturizing and Essential creams, the Shimmering is not a full coverage product and because it is shimmering product the color is also lighter than the previous products.  Interesting to note that out of all of the products, the Shimmering cream has a higher SPF level.  The other products offer and SPF 30 and the Shimmering is an SPF 45.   

The Clearing BB cream (the blue-green package) sucks. The special ingredient in Holika and Holika Clearing BB cream is tea tree oil and it claims to rid the skin of blemishes and imperfections with the tea tree oil. This product is more useless than a mesh condom.  This BB cream caused my skin to break out.  The consistency of this product feels oily in compassion to others and though the product claims it contains oil controlling powders in it, it feels like you have oil sitting on you face after applying it. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone who has acne problems. If you have acne, I recommend the Moisture BB cream.  This one is snake oil, in the literal sense.

 I am aware that Holika  Holika has a Watery Petit BB cream as well, but as far as I can tell the special ingredient in it is green tea and it claims to shimmering, moisturizing, and clearing all in in one. It is also the one product with the lowest SPF level of 25. After doing some research on the product, I think I’m just going to skip it.  There are many people who complain of this cream causing break outs, much like the Clearing formula. Also the color of this cream is runs closer to brown with pink undertones.  I think I am quite happy with my Moisture formula, and I don't want to go down that road again. I'm not even sure why Holika Holika made another Petit BB cream other than to just try and stick everything their previous BB creams did together. Sometimes you should just quite while you are ahead there Holika Holika. 

Thursday, October 17, 2013

WANT: Illamasqua's Bat Lash Duo

While I was scrolling through the, "expensive crap I want, but can't have" on Sephora, I discovered these super cute false eye lashes and nail polish. I'm normally not into false lashes (I'm terrible at putting falsies on), but these caught my eye. It's nice to see a higher end brand to come out with cute yet tacky lashes (and black lipstick!).

Reminds me of the days when I bought Manic Panic makeup many moons ago for whatever reason, but I would actually wear these falsies all year around. Just for Halloween? Hell no.

I will say, Illamasqua is probably my favorite nail polish brand. Way better than OPI. It just actually stays on longer! Also, this is a good deal. Normally, their nail polishes are $17 a piece (Wasn't $14?), and their falsies are $15.

What do you think? Yay? Nay?

$22 for one Black Glitter Nail Varnish and Bat Lashes Falsies with glue.

Monday, October 7, 2013

Movies: Gravity - Review



"A medical engineer and an astronaut work together to survive after an accident leaves them adrift in space." IMDB.com


Has anyone noticed that most of the block buster movies this year is about the world ending or apocalyptic mayhem? How depressing. I guess it's better than 'getting married' type movies that was trending in the 90's.

Anyway, I'm going to talk about the actors first off before I get started on the story and effects since the actors were my main concern in this movie. I will explain why below. Also, there maybe some SPOILERS. I wouldn't really consider them, but it's two people in space, so there's really not that much to give away, but I won't give away the ending and what not.

Saturday, October 5, 2013

Rasputina's New Single "The Willow Tree" & New Vinyl


Image from Rasputina.com

I'm a huge fan of Rasputina. I saw them live once, and they were, of course, fan-flippin'-tastic. I've noticed Melora, the lead of the group, doesn't release many albums as they did in the past, but I loved everything she's done. If you haven't listened to them before, definitely check them out!

Alrighty, Rasputina has a new vinyl album which you can pre-order for only $10! It's only has three songs, but I think it's worth it.

Side A
1. On The Pink (A Personal Message From Melora).
2. Wish You Were Here (a NEW recording to commemorate Rasputina's 1913 UK jaunt)
Side B
3. Slow, Old Yellowcake - a new recording of In Old Yellowcake, made more grindy and, well, slower.


Also, a new single you can download for only $5 Called 'The Willow Tree'.

Thursday, October 3, 2013

Skin Care: Skin Script's Glycolic Cleanser With Antioxidants

I have worked in several day spas from Florida to Tennessee. With all the day spas I have worked at previously (and currently), I always try out the whole line to see what it's like, worth, and also tell my clients honestly about the products. It has always been a struggle to find a good skin care line to work with and to supply without spending a fortune. Skin Script is actually both! Of course, like every skin care and cosmetic line on the market, there are some products of theirs that just don't cut it. The product is either fabulous, or just okay; doesn't do or offer much. Excluding the flaws, I decided to share one of my favorite product from Skin Script since there isn't really any reviews online...at all.



"This 17% glycolic cleanser breaks down oil and encourages cellular turnover to minimize oil and refine pores two reveal fresh, healthy skin." SkinScriptRX.com 

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

The Most Expensive Nail Polish In The World. $250,000.

Azature

In each issue of my holy beauty bible, New Beauty, there are small articles about “luxury” items such as this insanely expensive nail polish by the brand Azature. I was pretty shocked at the price of this product, but when I saw the price tag, I figured maybe a chunk of it is donated to a specific cause and what not. Nope.

What makes this blasted polish so special is that it is infused with 267 carats of fully cut and faceted black diamonds. According to the magazine, Kelly Osbourne received a manicure with this polish while spending that amount money. I do hope the manicurist received a good tip! How awkward would that be to ring someone at the counter and say, "Oh, and your total is $250,000...credit?"

I'm sure the, gee, I don't know, the 100% that are reading this are thinking, "Even if I was rich, I would never spend that amount of money on one nail polish!" Well, would you? It's hard to imagine so, but if you were born and raised in a very wealthy family without having to struggle with bills or anything that's the norm for us, from middle class to below poverty, would we? Probably so. Most of us could not even imagine that sort of life style where buying insanely, over priced nail polish is the norm. Must be nice, I suppose.

Putting all that aside, Azature expanded their line for a way more affordable polishes for only $25 a piece. Well, compared to their other price, I think this will do for the makeup/nail polish junkies. The major difference is that each polish contains one single black diamond that is "hand placed" in each bottle and gives the look of diamonds.

I may consider buying one of their affordable polishes, but I'm not really a, get-my-nails-done, kind of lady. Since I've been a licensed aesthetician for almost four years now, I'm not allowed to, or supposed to, wear polish or grow my nails out (for sanitary reasons), so I'm just use to not wearing any polish whatsoever. Pedicures on the other hand...


_Morgan

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Illamasqua Lipstick Review: Flare and Apocalips

 I have the biggest brand crush on Illamasqua. I tend to gravitate toward more theatrical make-up looks than natural make-up looks, because secretly I want to look like a robot in a 1920’s silent film about the future. Is that a practical desire? No, but Illamasqua certainly promises that it can make that dream a reality. I've been buying Illamasqua products piece meal from Sephora since they acquired a partnership with them and have been satisfied with every product I purchased.



I decided to pool our funds together and make a purchase from Illamasqua’s home site. Pro-tip for our fellow over-seas customers, while the website says free shipping on all International orders over 50 GBP this does not count Fragrances or Nail Polishes, which you would find that charge for that extra love and care in shipping reasonable if you have ever left a bottle of nail polish in a hot car and had it explode like me.

Crap I Put On My Face: Holika Holika Tomato Essence Mask Sheet Review



Price: $2

Product Description: “contains tomato essence which has a lot of vitamin A, C, and K, which helps keep your skin soft and supple. Tomato extract contains collagen-protecting lycopene. Lycopene can reduce inflammation and protect skin cells against UV damage and the thickening of the outer epidermis.”


I love tomatoes. I can consume tomatoes in any form; fried, pureed, diced, you name it. I have an exceptional fondness for Bloody Marys. Well, more like a My Strange Addiction-Shotgunning Bloody Mary’s until I vomit sort of way. I stopped keeping Bloody Mary mix around the apartment after an incident where I ended up driving through a snow storm at 7 am in search of caffeine and grease in order to vanquish a throbbing hangover gained due to a massive intake of tomatoes and booze the night before.
  
If I can’t get drunk off tomatoes and vodka, then I think wallowing in tomatoes for the improvement of my skin is the next best thing. That is why the idea Holika Holika’s Tomato Essence Mask appealed to me, that and it was two bucks and I needed to buy something else to meet the spending requirement for free shipping.

Friday, February 15, 2013

West World On Blue Ray






It's coming out on March 5th. You must own this. I know, random posting and it has been, I don't know, many moons since I have posted ANYTHING? Well, here you go.

Sunday, August 19, 2012

I'm Tired of Being Tired.

Hello to the very few viewers to my blog, or for those who randomly found me on Google.

I've been very busy, exhausted, and tired in the world of Morgan. This blog has been in the back of my brain for quite some time to make posts and what not, but it's just getting the time, and really, the effort, to do it. I don't have a camera (that works) at the moment, so I can not make the posts that I really want; reviews, random pictures of my life, and my cat, Gingko (she's so awesome). Not too sure why I'm making this post, but, I suppose, it satisfies my brain that I've told the few people who read The Mourning Reviews that, yes, I will hopefully be posting soon when I get my shit together! I do actually enjoy blogging useless information about beauty, books, music, etc, and my goal is to have more people wanting to post on my blog (I just think it's so fun to find other cool losers like me). C'est la vie.

I have nothing else to say.


So, until we meet again.



_Morgan
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...