Thursday, February 18, 2016

Memories: Comics & Coffee

I'm going to start to make posts of the past or just ramblings. I've been battling depression for quite some time, and I've notice that writing has helped me so much to combat it. I've seen different therapists and psychiatrists. I've also read books that were, pretty much, "how to deal with shit" and neither did anything for me. When I saw a therapist, I just felt like they didn't care and wanted their money. I haven't had much luck. One night, I just started writing...everything. I can't explain it, but I felt really good afterwards. I'm not going to post my personal experiences of certain things on here, but I want to post certain things that going through my mind at the moment. I don't have an official title for this, but I'll figure it out eventually.

just the select few of comics I would buy with my lunch money as a teenager
I'm sitting here at my vanity, slowly finishing up my coffee, and I was just thinking how I miss going to comic book stores when I was a kid. This was at a time where anime and comics weren't considered necessarily cool yet. I was a huge fan of, almost, anything anime and Elvira at the time since both of them were very new to me when I was much younger. I would hang out at a comic book store called, "Funny Pages", about every other weekend. It was a place that I felt normal. This was also one of the very few places I could find anything anime and science fiction items. My biggest love, as you can see, is Sailor Moon! I'll make a separate post soon on how I feel about anime then and now. That's a whole other topic! Any who, I have wasted so much money at Funny Pages. This is barely a handful of what I've purchased with my lunch money. Yes, I would starve myself to buy comic books. 

Makeup: MAC Brooke Candy's Lipsticks in Mind Control & Which Witch

I remember reading an interview of Brooke Candy from some blog (I'm sorry, I don't remember the blog!) last year that she was doing two makeup collections with MAC! With this collection, she just did two lipsticks and I believe just one of MAC's liquid eyeliners in black. I just bought the two lipsticks since I actually don't wear much eyeliner anymore; I'm big on lipsticks at the moment. Also, there was nothing special about the liquid eyeliner. MAC just took their liquid eyeliner and put it in Brooke Candy's packaging. Bleh. Any who, do I like these two lipsticks? Eh, I'm actually kind of disappointed. I'm a huge Brooke Candy fan, but these were just kind of meh. I'm hoping her second collection will stand out more (I don't know any information on the release date).

Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Makeup: Sephora Rouge Cream Lipstick in Private Boudoir

I guess blue lipstick is a trend now! Which is awesome since it's easier to find. I really do like Sephora's lipsticks. They're underrated and not at a bad price of $12.50. Unfortunately, that's really the only 'odd' color they have in their new range of colors, but it's a start! 

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Makeup: Sephora Colorful Gloss Balm in Slick Pony & Peek-a-Blue

Sephora has launched new lipstick and lip balm colors! I believe both were re-formulated, but I could be mistaken. I'm glad Sephora has finally released some unique colors. These two stood out to me the most. It was very tricky to take clear pictures of these lip balms, so I apologize if these are a hit or miss. I guess that's with the rest of my blog any how. I don't own a nice ass camera or anything like that. Maybe one day, I will. Oh well. On with the show!

Sunday, February 7, 2016

Skin Care: Skin Script's 15% Vitamin C/Green Tea Serum with Vitamin C, CoQ10, and Peptides

Apparently, my Skin Script's Glycolic Cleanser review was a highly viewed page. Probably because there's not a lot of reviews on the Skin Script line in general. However, looking back on the review...those pictures were awful! Even though these might be a slight improvement. Oh well, live and learn. I still use that cleanser on occasion. Any who, I've actually been using this serum for about, at least, a year and a half. It's an excellent serum. A couple downsides, but nothing major. I wanted to review this since, again, I can rarely find reviews on this skin care line. If you're curious about this serum, then keep reading!

A bad ass vitamin c serum. The back bar size.

Saturday, February 6, 2016

Wild Medicine Bar Soaps

Doesn't this look amazing?! Probably the coolest bar soap I've ever seen. They have several different ones, but this one caught my eye. Of course, these are 100% natural and contains actual stones and crystals. These are suppose to be "healing", but, regardless, these soaps look pretty damn cool. You can order these bad ass soaps from their official website or from Beauty Habit. I like to order from Beauty Habit because you get three free samples with every order. You don't get to choose, unfortunately, but still cool nonetheless. These run for $22.

Skincare: French Girl Organic's Neroli Cleansing Wash

I've been checking out this cleanser on Beauty Habit's website forever. I've been digging charcoal cleansers recently, but the down side of any charcoal cleanser, (regardless if it's drug store or high end), is that every single one that I have tried have dried the living crap out of my skin! It would also aggravate me if it had actual charcoal bits in it as well. I didn't feel like that did absolutely nothing for my skin. Anyway, I decided to splurge on this one since it's actually a charcoal milk cleanser which intrigued me. I could not find any reviews on this whatsoever, so if you want to know my opinion, then keep reading!

Neroli Cleansing Wash

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Makeup: Rituel de Fille's Eye Soot, Lip Sheer, and Lipstick

I actually ordered these items quite some time ago (probably around November). I had a really good paycheck and I've been eyeing out their products for a while. I decided to splurge and I was quite disappointed. I wanted to love these so badly, but Rituel de Fille failed miserably for me. I decided to review them now since I was cleaning out my vanity and found them buried in the back of my, "least used", makeup drawer. If you want to know what I think about these, keep reading!

Left to right: Enchanted Lip Sheer in Blackthorn,
 Forbidden Lipstick in Chrysalis,
 and Ash and Ember Eye Soot in Sigil

Sunday, June 28, 2015

Skin Care: Boscia Exfoliating Peel Gel

I don't have a good excuse why I haven't posted in a decade. All you need to know is, life kept getting in the way which made me lose interest blogging in general. Since everything is back to normal, for me, at least, I'm ready to jump back in!

Anyway, I received a sample of this exfoliating cleanser and I just don't get this product at all. I know what Boscia, and most other American and South Korean skin care companies are coping, which is the Cure Natural Aqua Gel. It's a very popular Japanese exfoliating cleanser which has a cult following today. I like the idea of this product. Especially for someone who has insane sensitive skin that could not handle peels or other harsh physical scrubs. I just know these type of "exfoliators" are very gimmicky and just do not work. Let me explain.

"Get the benefits of a peel—without the harsh side effects. This peel gel acts as a physical peel to remove the outer layer of dead skin, as a chemical peel to penetrate deep into skin for in-depth exfoliation, and as a treatment to firm and brighten for a healthy complexion. It’s triple-activated to get the best results with outer exfoliation and chemical exfoliation deep within pores while a brightening treatment can penetrate deep into skin. It bonds together so you instantly feel outer layer of skin being fully exfoliated. After rinsing, it lets skin appear smoother, softer, and brighter-looking after a single use." Sephora

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Carbomer, Cetrimonium Chloride, Acer Saccharum (Sugar Maple) Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Eugenia Caryophyllus (Clove) Leaf Oil, Lactobacillus/Punica Granatum Fruit Ferment Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus Fruit Extract, Butylene Glycol, Maltodextrin, Subtilisin, Peg-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Ppg-26-Buteth-2

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Holika Holika Petit BB Cream

I love the idea of BB cream; it’s a foundation, it’s a moisturizer, and a sunscreen. That is if you find one that matches your skin tone. Most of BB creams that I have come across are either way too orange, or they are so sheer that they don’t really accomplish anything tint wise, but then I came across Holika Holika Essential (the yellowy- orange package) Petit BB Cream and I fell in love. It is epitome of my lazy make-up routine, Petit BB cream, concealer, powder, and I’m good to go.   This BB cream has a good amount of coverage, but matches to lighter skin tones, especially to that jaundice like undertone of my skin. This is also one of the more affordable brands of BB Creams. It retails at Pretty and Cute for about $8.99, but most independent Korean sellers offer the product for around 4 or 5 dollars.  

The product has a light, perfume scent, I personally like it, but I might be a bit strong for those who are sensitive to odors and perfumes.   The special ingredient in the Essential BB cream is caviar which is supposed to provide extra elasticity and moisture in order to benefit aging skin.
 I just couldn’t stop the essential BB Cream I had to try the other varieties available. I had to catch them all, so to speak. 

Out of all the Holika Holika Petit BB creams I tried, the Moisture (the purple package) was my absolute favorite. You can tell by the feel of the product formula that is very lavish and moisture rich. The special ingredient in this formula is Hyaluronic acid, which is an excellent ingredient for anyone with acne prone skin that still needs. It feels amazing on the face and I saw a vast improvement in my skin quality, I had blemish free skin while wearing this product.  

                I would rank the Moisture BB cream the highest, the Essential as second, and the Shimmering (the pink package) as third. I had never worn a “shimmering” face product before and I was intrigued by the idea thinking that by wearing it I could also skip highlighting in my make-up routine.  The special ingredient in the Shimmering cream is pearl powder and since my favorite highlighting product is Lorac’s Oil free luminizer which has a pearlescent finish I thought that it would be right up my alley (especially since I think Lorac has discontinued the luminizer).   

When I first put on the Shimmer cream I looked sweaty, like I had a just three blocks on the hottest day of July sweaty. After the cream oxidized and I applied some powder it didn’t look as bad, but I didn’t really care for the finish. I just don’t think a dewy glow goes with my black eye shadow and red lipstick, Unlike the Moisturizing and Essential creams, the Shimmering is not a full coverage product and because it is shimmering product the color is also lighter than the previous products.  Interesting to note that out of all of the products, the Shimmering cream has a higher SPF level.  The other products offer and SPF 30 and the Shimmering is an SPF 45.   

The Clearing BB cream (the blue-green package) sucks. The special ingredient in Holika and Holika Clearing BB cream is tea tree oil and it claims to rid the skin of blemishes and imperfections with the tea tree oil. This product is more useless than a mesh condom.  This BB cream caused my skin to break out.  The consistency of this product feels oily in compassion to others and though the product claims it contains oil controlling powders in it, it feels like you have oil sitting on you face after applying it. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone who has acne problems. If you have acne, I recommend the Moisture BB cream.  This one is snake oil, in the literal sense.

 I am aware that Holika  Holika has a Watery Petit BB cream as well, but as far as I can tell the special ingredient in it is green tea and it claims to shimmering, moisturizing, and clearing all in in one. It is also the one product with the lowest SPF level of 25. After doing some research on the product, I think I’m just going to skip it.  There are many people who complain of this cream causing break outs, much like the Clearing formula. Also the color of this cream is runs closer to brown with pink undertones.  I think I am quite happy with my Moisture formula, and I don't want to go down that road again. I'm not even sure why Holika Holika made another Petit BB cream other than to just try and stick everything their previous BB creams did together. Sometimes you should just quite while you are ahead there Holika Holika.