Saturday, February 6, 2016

Wild Medicine Bar Soaps

Doesn't this look amazing?! Probably the coolest bar soap I've ever seen. They have several different ones, but this one caught my eye. Of course, these are 100% natural and contains actual stones and crystals. These are suppose to be "healing", but, regardless, these soaps look pretty damn cool. You can order these bad ass soaps from their official website or from Beauty Habit. I like to order from Beauty Habit because you get three free samples with every order. You don't get to choose, unfortunately, but still cool nonetheless. These run for $22.







Skincare: French Girl Organic's Neroli Cleansing Wash

I've been checking out this cleanser on Beauty Habit's website forever. I've been digging charcoal cleansers recently, but the down side of any charcoal cleanser, (regardless if it's drug store or high end), is that every single one that I have tried have dried the living crap out of my skin! It would also aggravate me if it had actual charcoal bits in it as well. I didn't feel like that did absolutely nothing for my skin. Anyway, I decided to splurge on this one since it's actually a charcoal milk cleanser which intrigued me. I could not find any reviews on this whatsoever, so if you want to know my opinion, then keep reading!

Neroli Cleansing Wash

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Makeup: Rituel de Fille's Eye Soot, Lip Sheer, and Lipstick


I actually ordered these items quite some time ago (probably around November). I had a really good paycheck and I've been eyeing out their products for a while. I decided to splurge and I was quite disappointed. I wanted to love these so badly, but Rituel de Fille failed miserably for me. I decided to review them now since I was cleaning out my vanity and found them buried in the back of my, "least used", makeup drawer. If you want to know what I think about these, keep reading!

Left to right: Enchanted Lip Sheer in Blackthorn,
 Forbidden Lipstick in Chrysalis,
 and Ash and Ember Eye Soot in Sigil

Sunday, June 28, 2015

Skin Care: Boscia Exfoliating Peel Gel

I don't have a good excuse why I haven't posted in a decade. All you need to know is, life kept getting in the way which made me lose interest blogging in general. Since everything is back to normal, for me, at least, I'm ready to jump back in!

Anyway, I received a sample of this exfoliating cleanser and I just don't get this product at all. I know what Boscia, and most other American and South Korean skin care companies are coping, which is the Cure Natural Aqua Gel. It's a very popular Japanese exfoliating cleanser which has a cult following today. I like the idea of this product. Especially for someone who has insane sensitive skin that could not handle peels or other harsh physical scrubs. I just know these type of "exfoliators" are very gimmicky and just do not work. Let me explain.


"Get the benefits of a peel—without the harsh side effects. This peel gel acts as a physical peel to remove the outer layer of dead skin, as a chemical peel to penetrate deep into skin for in-depth exfoliation, and as a treatment to firm and brighten for a healthy complexion. It’s triple-activated to get the best results with outer exfoliation and chemical exfoliation deep within pores while a brightening treatment can penetrate deep into skin. It bonds together so you instantly feel outer layer of skin being fully exfoliated. After rinsing, it lets skin appear smoother, softer, and brighter-looking after a single use." Sephora

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Carbomer, Cetrimonium Chloride, Acer Saccharum (Sugar Maple) Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Eugenia Caryophyllus (Clove) Leaf Oil, Lactobacillus/Punica Granatum Fruit Ferment Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus Fruit Extract, Butylene Glycol, Maltodextrin, Subtilisin, Peg-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Ppg-26-Buteth-2

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Holika Holika Petit BB Cream




I love the idea of BB cream; it’s a foundation, it’s a moisturizer, and a sunscreen. That is if you find one that matches your skin tone. Most of BB creams that I have come across are either way too orange, or they are so sheer that they don’t really accomplish anything tint wise, but then I came across Holika Holika Essential (the yellowy- orange package) Petit BB Cream and I fell in love. It is epitome of my lazy make-up routine, Petit BB cream, concealer, powder, and I’m good to go.   This BB cream has a good amount of coverage, but matches to lighter skin tones, especially to that jaundice like undertone of my skin. This is also one of the more affordable brands of BB Creams. It retails at Pretty and Cute for about $8.99, but most independent Korean sellers offer the product for around 4 or 5 dollars.  

The product has a light, perfume scent, I personally like it, but I might be a bit strong for those who are sensitive to odors and perfumes.   The special ingredient in the Essential BB cream is caviar which is supposed to provide extra elasticity and moisture in order to benefit aging skin.
 I just couldn’t stop the essential BB Cream I had to try the other varieties available. I had to catch them all, so to speak. 

Out of all the Holika Holika Petit BB creams I tried, the Moisture (the purple package) was my absolute favorite. You can tell by the feel of the product formula that is very lavish and moisture rich. The special ingredient in this formula is Hyaluronic acid, which is an excellent ingredient for anyone with acne prone skin that still needs. It feels amazing on the face and I saw a vast improvement in my skin quality, I had blemish free skin while wearing this product.  

                I would rank the Moisture BB cream the highest, the Essential as second, and the Shimmering (the pink package) as third. I had never worn a “shimmering” face product before and I was intrigued by the idea thinking that by wearing it I could also skip highlighting in my make-up routine.  The special ingredient in the Shimmering cream is pearl powder and since my favorite highlighting product is Lorac’s Oil free luminizer which has a pearlescent finish I thought that it would be right up my alley (especially since I think Lorac has discontinued the luminizer).   

When I first put on the Shimmer cream I looked sweaty, like I had a just three blocks on the hottest day of July sweaty. After the cream oxidized and I applied some powder it didn’t look as bad, but I didn’t really care for the finish. I just don’t think a dewy glow goes with my black eye shadow and red lipstick, Unlike the Moisturizing and Essential creams, the Shimmering is not a full coverage product and because it is shimmering product the color is also lighter than the previous products.  Interesting to note that out of all of the products, the Shimmering cream has a higher SPF level.  The other products offer and SPF 30 and the Shimmering is an SPF 45.   

The Clearing BB cream (the blue-green package) sucks. The special ingredient in Holika and Holika Clearing BB cream is tea tree oil and it claims to rid the skin of blemishes and imperfections with the tea tree oil. This product is more useless than a mesh condom.  This BB cream caused my skin to break out.  The consistency of this product feels oily in compassion to others and though the product claims it contains oil controlling powders in it, it feels like you have oil sitting on you face after applying it. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone who has acne problems. If you have acne, I recommend the Moisture BB cream.  This one is snake oil, in the literal sense.

 I am aware that Holika  Holika has a Watery Petit BB cream as well, but as far as I can tell the special ingredient in it is green tea and it claims to shimmering, moisturizing, and clearing all in in one. It is also the one product with the lowest SPF level of 25. After doing some research on the product, I think I’m just going to skip it.  There are many people who complain of this cream causing break outs, much like the Clearing formula. Also the color of this cream is runs closer to brown with pink undertones.  I think I am quite happy with my Moisture formula, and I don't want to go down that road again. I'm not even sure why Holika Holika made another Petit BB cream other than to just try and stick everything their previous BB creams did together. Sometimes you should just quite while you are ahead there Holika Holika. 

Thursday, October 17, 2013

WANT: Illamasqua's Bat Lash Duo

While I was scrolling through the, "expensive crap I want, but can't have" on Sephora, I discovered these super cute false eye lashes and nail polish. I'm normally not into false lashes (I'm terrible at putting falsies on), but these caught my eye. It's nice to see a higher end brand to come out with cute yet tacky lashes (and black lipstick!).

Reminds me of the days when I bought Manic Panic makeup many moons ago for whatever reason, but I would actually wear these falsies all year around. Just for Halloween? Hell no.

I will say, Illamasqua is probably my favorite nail polish brand. Way better than OPI. It just actually stays on longer! Also, this is a good deal. Normally, their nail polishes are $17 a piece (Wasn't $14?), and their falsies are $15.

What do you think? Yay? Nay?

$22 for one Black Glitter Nail Varnish and Bat Lashes Falsies with glue.

Monday, October 7, 2013

Movies: Gravity - Review



"A medical engineer and an astronaut work together to survive after an accident leaves them adrift in space." IMDB.com


Has anyone noticed that most of the block buster movies this year is about the world ending or apocalyptic mayhem? How depressing. I guess it's better than 'getting married' type movies that was trending in the 90's.

Anyway, I'm going to talk about the actors first off before I get started on the story and effects since the actors were my main concern in this movie. I will explain why below. Also, there maybe some SPOILERS. I wouldn't really consider them, but it's two people in space, so there's really not that much to give away, but I won't give away the ending and what not.

Saturday, October 5, 2013

Rasputina's New Single "The Willow Tree" & New Vinyl


Image from Rasputina.com

I'm a huge fan of Rasputina. I saw them live once, and they were, of course, fan-flippin'-tastic. I've noticed Melora, the lead of the group, doesn't release many albums as they did in the past, but I loved everything she's done. If you haven't listened to them before, definitely check them out!

Alrighty, Rasputina has a new vinyl album which you can pre-order for only $10! It's only has three songs, but I think it's worth it.

Side A
1. On The Pink (A Personal Message From Melora).
2. Wish You Were Here (a NEW recording to commemorate Rasputina's 1913 UK jaunt)
Side B
3. Slow, Old Yellowcake - a new recording of In Old Yellowcake, made more grindy and, well, slower.


Also, a new single you can download for only $5 Called 'The Willow Tree'.

Thursday, October 3, 2013

Skin Care: Skin Script's Glycolic Cleanser With Antioxidants

I have worked in several day spas from Florida to Tennessee. With all the day spas I have worked at previously (and currently), I always try out the whole line to see what it's like, worth, and also tell my clients honestly about the products. It has always been a struggle to find a good skin care line to work with and to supply without spending a fortune. Skin Script is actually both! Of course, like every skin care and cosmetic line on the market, there are some products of theirs that just don't cut it. The product is either fabulous, or just okay; doesn't do or offer much. Excluding the flaws, I decided to share one of my favorite product from Skin Script since there isn't really any reviews online...at all.



"This 17% glycolic cleanser breaks down oil and encourages cellular turnover to minimize oil and refine pores two reveal fresh, healthy skin." SkinScriptRX.com 

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

The Most Expensive Nail Polish In The World. $250,000.

Azature

In each issue of my holy beauty bible, New Beauty, there are small articles about “luxury” items such as this insanely expensive nail polish by the brand Azature. I was pretty shocked at the price of this product, but when I saw the price tag, I figured maybe a chunk of it is donated to a specific cause and what not. Nope.

What makes this blasted polish so special is that it is infused with 267 carats of fully cut and faceted black diamonds. According to the magazine, Kelly Osbourne received a manicure with this polish while spending that amount money. I do hope the manicurist received a good tip! How awkward would that be to ring someone at the counter and say, "Oh, and your total is $250,000...credit?"

I'm sure the, gee, I don't know, the 100% that are reading this are thinking, "Even if I was rich, I would never spend that amount of money on one nail polish!" Well, would you? It's hard to imagine so, but if you were born and raised in a very wealthy family without having to struggle with bills or anything that's the norm for us, from middle class to below poverty, would we? Probably so. Most of us could not even imagine that sort of life style where buying insanely, over priced nail polish is the norm. Must be nice, I suppose.

Putting all that aside, Azature expanded their line for a way more affordable polishes for only $25 a piece. Well, compared to their other price, I think this will do for the makeup/nail polish junkies. The major difference is that each polish contains one single black diamond that is "hand placed" in each bottle and gives the look of diamonds.

I may consider buying one of their affordable polishes, but I'm not really a, get-my-nails-done, kind of lady. Since I've been a licensed aesthetician for almost four years now, I'm not allowed to, or supposed to, wear polish or grow my nails out (for sanitary reasons), so I'm just use to not wearing any polish whatsoever. Pedicures on the other hand...


_Morgan